For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Question from an OT Student Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By ekatz04 On 2007.11.30 08:46
Hello everyone, My name is Eyal and I am a student of Occupational Therapy. As an exercise for one of my courses, dealing with support groups and group activity in OT, we've been asked to approach an online discussion board (relevant to our studies) and try to find out what it means for its members and how it helps them.

this forum's administrator has been kind enough to allow me to post my question here. (I should emphasize that my exercise is meant to review the general attitude of forum users, not to discuss specific answers, and that it is not meant for research purposes and will not be published or referenced anywhere.)

So, after this lengthy introduction... I would greatly appreciate it if anyone at all wished to comment on whether, and how, has this forum been significant for them, and how (if at all) it has contributed to their everyday coping experience.

Thank you...

By annwood On 2007.11.30 18:23
Welcome aboard! I hope that we can help you with an unerstanding of PD Caregivers. From my perspective the Forum allows me to ventilate my anger, fears, amd uncertainty to others who are in the same situation. Not many professional or lay people have a good understanding of the disease or the toll it takes on the caregiver. I have found that there are several "regulars" who post and at any given time some of us are ok and some of us are hurting. We all have our ups and downs. The group tends to recognize when one individual is in need of help and at that time they tend to be there for that person. Rarely are any of us carefree but the compassion of the users is in full evidence when we need it.