For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Increased edema-->increased dementia? Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Kalispell Kathy On 2009.07.12 01:56
I'm a newbie to this forum, which has answered many of my questions. It will be a Godsend to me down the road, I can tell. My husband is 84 and has parkinsonism (no tremors) with dementia, diagnosed about 2 yrs ago, but has had some of the symptoms for at least 5 yrs. He is on generic sinemet, namenda, and aricept.

His blood pressure can vary from 90/50 to 180/100, though it's generally 125/80. He has days or weeks-long periods of 1-2+ edema in his legs by evening. During these times his dementia is significantly worse, and he is "drenchingly" incontinent at night. Eventually the edema ceases to be a problem, his dementia clears significantly, and he gets up to void at night. We had 10 good days the last time, then back to increasing edema, and the cycle starts again. Is this a symptom of PD or should we be looking at a cardiac consult?

Another question I have: has anyone used the BioDerm system for managing male incontinence? A friend highly recommended it, as it worked miracles for her quadraplegic husband, but the site indicates it's for 24 hour use, whereas I need something to use for nighttime only. Anybody have some helpful hints?

Thank you so much for being there! Seeing what may be on the horizon helps me appreciate even more every good day we have together.

By WitsEnd On 2009.07.13 10:21