For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Child of PD patient Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By futureMD On 2009.07.28 00:16
Hi,

After much thought, I finally thought I would join this forum to share my feeling with others we live a similar life like myself.

I am 22 years old and my father has had Parkinson's disease since I was 10 years old. Although he was diagnosed in 1997 at young onset (he was only 50), his condition started to truly worsen in 2004. That was the year I graduated high school, and I remember him quitting his job the month I started college.

Over the past 5 years, I think I have been able to cope reasonably well with my father's condition. However, I am currently in my second year of medical school and due to the demanding lifestyle and time that it entails, I have found it increasingly difficult to cope with this. I live 1.5 hrs from home and my mother is the primary caretaker. My dad does go to the adult day care center from 8am-2pm everyday, and then my mom takes care of him. She also works part-time so she can pay the bills. I come home for 3 weekends in a row, and then stay at school another 3 weekends, which are closer to our exams.

I have been totally independent for the past few years on school loans and so at the least, I think i have had to mature quickly for my age.

I am hoping for light at the end of the tunnel. Since I have been home for summer vacation, everday is a reminder of how hard my mother works and how difficult it is for her to take care of my dad. i feel pretty hopeless for the most part because i am going to be away from school for some time.

i am fortunate for a few close friends, but they all live pretty different lives than me, so i don't know who understands me.