For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic DBS Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By maryann54 On 2009.12.06 14:35
Hello. I am new to this forum. I have been caring for someone with Parkinson's for nearly 4 years. Does anyone have any experience with DBS?

By annwood On 2009.12.06 18:13
DBS (Deep Brain Stimulation) is generally used when a person has reached the limits of how much medicine they can take. It does nothing to cure or slow the disease but it does reduce some of the symptoms and in many cases it does allow for a decrease in medications. In the surgical procedure electrodes are placed in the brian and stimulators on either side of the chest wall. A continuous, slight electrical current is generated to the brain and the charge is regulated until the proper amount is being delivered.

There are several past posts on this forum dealing with DBS. I would advise you to search them for more answers.

By packerman On 2009.12.07 13:49
we are 2 years post surgery.
my husband visits www.DBSsurgery@yahoogroups.com.
there are pre & post op patients of all ages & stages.
they should be able to answer many of your questions or send you to other sites for more information.

good luck,
Pat

By maryann54 On 2009.12.10 19:18
Did it improve your husband's quality of life?

By packerman On 2009.12.11 11:56
yes.
he has very few tremors now and is completely off Sinemet.
he does take Requip XR a few times per day.

he still freezes when he is off, but DBS was never going to address that issue.
he still has balance problems and falls sometimes.

all-in-all, he is very glad he did it and encourages others to check it out.
but i know some who have not had as much success.

he is 52 and was diagnosed at 37.
he sees docs at Vanderbilt Movement Disorders Clinic and had his surgery there.

if you have any other questions, please feel free to ask.

Pat