For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Public restrooms Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By sannph On 2010.06.19 21:49
Hi. I'm new to this website but have been browsing and love what I've found. This is my first time participating in a forum so I'm learning as I go. My husband was diagnosed with PD in 2005 and retired on disability in 2006 at age 50--certainly not what we'd planned! Maybe my question has been discussed already but I didn't find it. I'm not sure what is best to do when we're out in a public place and there is not a family handicap restroom available. My PWP is in a wheelchair and he needs help with transfers. Any suggestions?

By karolinakitty On 2010.06.19 23:00
From formerly working in food service and dealing with public restrooms here is one option:

Have your husband check out the restroom for "company", if there is no one in there open the door and if possible keep it open part way with a trash can or something, just enough so that others may think it is being cleaned. This will give you the opportunity to assist him. If someone should just barge in kindly ask if they could give you a minute please. Most folks won't mind and might even help keep others from coming in until you are done.

By caregivermary On 2010.06.20 11:19
I have had issues lately on this topic. Would it be ok for me to take my husb who is in a wheelchair into the ladies room to use the accessible stall there with my assistance? Do you think females would be upset? My husb said he would be ok with it.

By parkinit On 2010.06.20 21:07
Great topic. I'm on the verge of this myself (needing to assists my spouse with transfers) and have often stationed myself outside the bathroom door worrying about my spouse inside.

I'm interested in helpful responses as well.

By shirley On 2010.06.20 21:24