For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic overwhelmed Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By jules0800 On 2011.07.25 23:36
I'm new to all this and this is my story... my father was diagnosed 6 years ago, my mother was his caretaker until cancer hit and she passed late in December. They lived in another state and I had to take a few months off of work to fly back and forth during this awful time. I live with my boyfriend and he has graciously moved my father in with us. I'm starting to get overwhelmed!!! This is harder than I could have ever imagined. I have never been one who asked for help.
This forum has explained so much. Thank you to all of you who have made this journey before me.

By cmonge On 2011.07.26 10:23
I know how you feel. You basically give up your life to care for this person. It's not something you expect and it's extremely frustrating. It is especially hard if you are young. You are lucky you have your boyfriend for support. My advice to you is to get some help with your dad (check his insurance to see if he has home health coverage) so you and your boyfriend can go out and take a break. Do not jeopardize this relationship. Remember you have to take care of yourself in order to take care of your dad.

By HappyPuppy On 2011.07.26 15:02