For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Drivers license suspended! Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By carman96 On 2012.09.30 19:51
Well, it finally happened, they suspended my husbands license. He couldn't pass the written test. It is depressing but also a relief as I have not let him drive for several months and he gets mad.On long drives I have been driving exclusively for several years now. He really doesn't know how slow he is and his reflexes have to be slow too!
Hopefully he will get used to not having his license and I don't have to keep reminding him that he can't drive.
Poor guy, he's only 66 and has had to give so much up already. He used to ski, waterski, ride motorcycles, etc. the other day he wanted to buy a ski-rope so he could knee-board. I had to explain to him that his knee-boarding days are over. I hate having to be the bad guy all the time. At least I can blame the driving thing on the motor vehicle department.

By Trusting On 2012.09.30 23:24
I'm sorry for you and your partner. I also do almost all of the driving, especially on long trips or areas that are unfamiliar. I'm dreading the day when my partner can't drive at all. It gets so hard being the one who has to do all the shopping, running errands, etc. On the other side of the coin, I understand your sense of relief. I worry everytime my husband even takes a short trip to a friends house or into town. Will we ever get used to all of these changes in our/their lives?

By abp0822 On 2012.10.02 16:50
It is a tough transition but best for everyone. My dad had an accident that was a huge wakeup call. Luckily no one was hurt but who could predict the next time? He protests periodically but overall has adjusted to the situation. He probably should have stopped driving a few years before he actually did. Had an angel on his shoulder I suppose.