For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Newbie here... Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Shedog On 2012.10.27 01:38
Wow I didn't even know that there was a support place for caregivers.

Hubby has been diagnosed with PD for the past 8 years now, and it is raplidly progressing. He has gone from an active and vibrant man down to one who justs sits and stares out the window day after day... What an awful life for him, he was a farmer. He has just recently over the past couple of weeks started to hallucinate. His tremors are so bad now that he has difficulty eating a meal. I have taken to spoon feeding him, when the tremors are really really bad, the dogs think he is Mr wonderful and hang around under the table at meal times, cause they know they can have whatever lands on the floor. Then today for the first time, his legs gave out from under him and he landed on his butt on the grass in the backyard. He has a walker and wheelchair for when we go out. Oh and perhaps I should mention that I am in New Zealand. Looking forward to getting some support and perhaps helping others where I can.

By lurkingforacure On 2012.10.27 12:20
Welcome to our family, although I am sorry that we are all here. You sound like you are coping as well as you can, keep up the love :)

New Zealand has had a lot of research about PD going on, I hope it might benefit you and your loved one soon.

By Trusting On 2012.10.27 16:53
Welcome. I still feel like a newcomer too, but this site has been very helpful to me already and I hope it does for you too. Sometimes I look at my husband and wonder what is ahead for us, but I just try to take one day at a time. Blessings to you.

By Shedog On 2012.10.27 17:34