For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Doctors off the wall with treatment. Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Knoosy On 2013.01.11 14:04
My friend just came back from the hospital after constipation issues-apparently a common occurrence in PWP.
He has a little back pain, occasional leaning and was diagnosed with degenerative scoliosis. His doctor who is either off the wall or has a brain that computes at light speed and knows something the rest of us don't know, concluded and announced that the scoliosis is the reason for his constipation and that he needed surgery for that right away. I saw the scoliosis and as a physical therapist I can say that it is still minor and surgery is not needed at this point. In order to cause constipation the scoliosis must be very advanced. Constipation from scoliosis is rare.
The doctor's additional reasoning for the immediate back surgery is that since back surgery can't be done after DBS, which I somehow doubt, the back surgery has to be done as soon as yesterday followed by DBS. In this doctor's perfect imaginary world, this patient will heal from back surgery in 4 months instead of 6 even tho he's 70 and has PD in such a stage that he is frozen off a lot more than on. The pills working less and less. How do they figure will he be able to do physical rehabilitation therapy and recover at this assumed speed when he can't exercise? I just see further and scary degeneration down the line with this approach. Go figure, as I said this one may just be off the wall. That's why I'm scheduling a second opinion.