For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Can I do this? Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Onedayatatime On 2013.05.19 12:26
Can I do this? I am tired of pretending to be the upbeat happy person that everyone is used to seeing. I feel as If I'm just going through the motions everyday. I'm sad and angry when I see what this disease does. I worry that I will not be able to be a good caregiver as the disease progresses. I know I'm not alone in the way I feel, I just needed to release my emotions. Thank you for listening.

By Mel On 2013.05.19 15:21 [Edit]
You will do great. No matter how angry I may get I seem to keep doing whats right for my pwp.

By jcoff012 On 2013.05.19 19:07
Yes, you can. Some days are better than others, but you can...and you will...and if you need to vent, come back...

By Betsey Clarke On 2013.05.21 23:59
I am new to this blog, but am on the end of the spectrum of taking care of my husband with Parkinsons. All's I can say is that you do the best you can. You accept the days that are depressing and impossible. And know that you will feel better, you will get some decent sleep, and you will find some peace. For some reason, it is easier for me now than it was at first. I have learned alot from our home health nurses, (they are wonderful), about how to take care of my husband. I have a hired caregiver twice a week that gives my husband showers, and does light housekeeping and other things. GET HELP when you need it. It will be the only thing that saves you.

By parkinit On 2013.05.23 00:00
You will because if not you, who then? I ask myself this question frequently. Then I buckle down and get what needs to be done . . . done. I have to push myself out of these slumps and I am NOT happy go lucky anymore. I used to be somewhat, but this disease takes it out of the PWP as well as the caregiver.