For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Found out today...it's Parkinson's. Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Babz On 2013.08.19 18:33
I'm new here, I'm new to all of this... My dad just got back from the neurologist today, and he has been diagnosed with Parkinson's. I am swirling with emotion, I am just looking for some guidance. I plan to do all I can to help him, I will be moving next year to take care of him. I'm not sure what to expect, is next year too long? I'm 27 and I feel like I'm drowning.
Any advice or anything would be helpful at this point. thank you.

By Pearly4 On 2013.08.19 20:32
Don't panic - take a deep breath!

Parkinson's progresses at different rates and in a different manner for everyone. You could be in for a long haul with this disease, so my advice is to take this time to educate yourself. Read the posts here, read other Parkinson's web sites or check the local library for books. Do some long distance research on possible support groups in his area by web search (or other means) for caregivers and/or those with Parkinsons.

Don't lose yourself in the disease or his care, remember you'll need time for yourself and your own interests too. Take care of yourself first!

By jcoff012 On 2013.08.19 21:59
I agree...please don't panic. I suspect you will have time to make many longterm decisions, so don't change your life immediately. Check your options, especially...do you have brothers and sisters who can also help your Dad? Does HE have brothers and sisters? etc.

My husband has PD, was dx over four years ago and other than tremors and mood swings, he is doing well. He has many symptoms, but manages daily, is pretty clear headed, and never gives in to the disease. We still are able to travel some and enjoy our grandchildren.