For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Anti Depressant Medication and OCD Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By jcs On 2013.09.22 20:21
I have read that Parkinson in general causes OCD behavior such as obscene sexual behavior or constantly focusing on either painting a room or repairing a window even though none of these are needed, self centered, aggressiveness. I hear that this may be med related (requip or mirapex) and then I hear that its not. My question is since anti depressants are needed in my father's case as with many PD individuals, can the antidepressant be causing this behavior or possibly adding to it. We have tried several antidepressants, he is currently on Mirtazipine. My father is 83, severe dyskinesia, 9 years with PD.

By Reflection On 2013.09.22 20:46
I'm no doctor, but in my experience, severe dyskinesia is a tip-off that your father is overmedicated, and the requip/mirapex or just too much dopamine from sinemet, etc. is to blame. My husband, when overmedicated, showed just the behaviors you describe. Once he got off the requip, both the dyskinesias and the self centered, aggressive and OCD behaviors were greatly reduced. He's been on Wellbutrin as an anti-depressant for many years; as far as I can tell it has had no negative side effects.