For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic quiet Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Wildcats1958 On 2015.04.25 18:02
As time goes along my husband gets quieter and of course the loss of expression. The quiet is as if nobody was in there. This comes and goes. This is in the 15th year. Is it in the declining period.

By umajane On 2015.04.25 23:08
My husband is very quiet as well. Sometimes dinner time is so still I have to turn on the radio. I initiate almost every conversation unless there is a complaint. He doesn't like me to speak loud either.. He is amazingly vocal however when I drive. Tomorrow I am taking out our RV...I HAVE TO DRIVE TO HIS SPECIFICATIONS. he was always difficult concerning cars but now it's quite a chore. PS I am a good safe driver and the sole driver now.
Before PD I would not allow his back seat driving but I let him now. It is so difficult sometimes. My husband is 75 and was diagnosed about 4-5 years ago.
I am on the phone with a lot of friends to stay engaged but the QUIET can be eerie!

By Wildcats1958 On 2015.04.26 19:50
He goes to an PD exercise class and the wives visit in a room. We all shared that their voice gets so low and quiet but during a rem sleep situation they can yell out very loud. They said that PD's are sensitive to our voice tone and they think we are yelling sometimes when we are not.

By LOHENGR1N On 2015.04.26 20:42
This is the first time I've ever heard of patients being more sensitive to voice tone and think people are yelling when they're not. Also I'm wondering why now because he has P.D. you allow "backseat driving" when you never did before? Just wondering.

By umajane On 2015.04.28 00:06