For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Someone, please, explain this to me... Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By jcoff012 On 2015.12.30 17:01
I have been posting to this board for a few years now, and find it very interesting and informative...BUT, would someone please explain to me why so many caregivers are seemingly so negative in their comments?

Please, please don't get me wrong...I DO understand caregiving and especially how it takes a toll on your mind, body, and spirit. I honestly do...

What is hard for me to understand is the mindset of depressingly negative comments we see here. I don't see that on the cancer boards...and I truly wonder why. In both cases, the patient did nothing to cause the illness, but it seems many are far less tolerant with PWP.
I guess it bothers me because in my heart, I wouldn't want my husband, who is my PWP, to feel trapped or depressed because of an illness I had/have. He hasn't so far, so I want to do the same for him.

Please understand that I am not "holier than thou"...just cannot get a grip on the mindset that as a spouse of someone who is ill, that doing what is needed and helpful is just expected, accepted, and part of marriage. Isn't it?

I cannot say that this is not a cruel disease, but it isn't just the caregiver for which it is cruel. Bottom line, we will go on...we will survive...but, our PWP slowly deteriorates both physically and mentally to a state for which he is demeaned and saddened much more than we. And, for that, I am saddened. I want the physically fit man I married almost 49 years ago, but in the last eight years, we have learned to accept the life we have now. I want Carl to have time to NOT have tremors or not to take so many meds in order to function...but, we keep going on knowing our wants and wishes are fleeting, at best.