For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic Working Full Time, 2 Teenagers, College & PD Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By Josie On 2016.10.18 21:46
Hi there, this is my first time posting to the forum. I read about 60 post and finally jumped into the water. Thank you for all sharing in this forum and the caregiver forum. I felt some of my burden lifted just reading post that made me know I am not losing my mind.

Short version of my family story - my husband was diag. at 42, but they believe he had since 35 - He is now between 6-13 years of the disease, his gfather died in the 70's with PD complications.

So... in the past six years we have had 2 DB surgeries, he is still working full time, and we are raising 2 teenagers, one graduating this Spring. I am in Grad school, finishing up in December. Our iife is so stressful from all aspects.

We are broke, from past med. bills, prescriptions, college cost, 2 teenagers, life and a mortgage. My husband works for the insurance and normally spends 60 hours a week doing a 40 hour job. He is severely depressed, sleeps when not working or complaining about everything.

I am finishing my grad work for more money in my job, my husband resents and thinks it is a waste of time. I really want him to go on disability, but know that I will have to do all the paperwork and logistics with no promise of him getting on disability.

My teen boys always have the look of what is going to be wrong today. I hate that their youth has such a cloud of stress, money problems, and fear of the unknown.

Finally, my husband tells me about 4 times a week he just wants to die or that he is going to divorce me. How much do I blame on PD, depression, or exhaustion?