For those who care for someone with Parkinson's disease
[Home] [Forum] [Help] [Search] [Register] [Login] [Donate]
You are not logged in

Topic New and Needing to Talk Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By melaniemarie On 2017.11.16 14:47
Hello. I am new here. My father is 66yo. For the last 3 years I've been seeing a change in my father's gross motor movement. I was a researcher in the field of Neuroscience. It's taken me a long time to convince him to see a neuro, it's finally happening in December.

In 3 years his movement has gone from just gross motor issues to now, fine motor issues. He has no strength to lift a spoon, he can barely write, he can barely walk or get out of a chair. He doesn't have tremors, there is some trembling in his lips and legs in the mornings.

I'm very distraught and feel that it's progressed so fast and to a point that may soon be unmanageable. I myself can't even research the disease bc I'm trying to stay in denial about the outcome until he gets a formal diagnosis. He has told me he will kill himself.

I'm still hoping it could be something else, but nothing else seems to fit.

By Olympia On 2017.11.16 18:51
So sorry for you and your father......from my experience I will tell everyone to make sure that you go with your loved ones to all Dr office visits.....and go in with them...do not wait in the waiting room!!.....make sure that your Dr knows that he has said that he would hurt himself....this is already a sign of depression.... I will not take appointments past 3 months.... things change sometimes fast ....this is a really great site...and you will find lots of information in others post ..... thinking of you..... Olympia

By melaniemarie On 2017.11.16 20:47